The Head Of Department of English Language


Cradle Park Banner

Name: Mr. Hozan Gorgeen Othman
Position: Head Of Department of English Language
E-Mail: english.dept@uoz.edu.krd
Phone: +964 750 4828796
Research Interests:Aspects of Linguistics, ESL, Topics in TESOL, Teaching and Learning English
Bachelor: University of Duhok, 2008
Master: University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, 2012

About The Department

English language Department is one of the departments that constitute school of languages at the faculty of Humanities, University of Zakho. The mission of the department is to enable the students express themselves in English language clearly and comprehensively, orally and in writing and acquire an appropriate knowledge of relevant fields within literature and within linguistics. The Department offers different courses for undergraduate level, such as English Linguistics, Literature and English language communication skills. The courses are arranged in a four year program. After fulfilling the requirements of the program, the student will awarded BA degree in English language and literature. The department has the capacity to enrol about 40 undergraduate students each year, however, the number varies according to the general admission plan of the Ministry of Higher Education. At the postgraduate level, the department offers an M.A program in English Literature. The program offers courses that address different literary genres, movements, authors, literary criticism, academic writing and research skill and publication of scholarly journals;

The Objectives and Outcomes

Our goals in teaching are to enable our students to read well, to write well, and to think well in English language, and to provide them with appropriate knowledge in the discipline of English language and literature. More specifically, we aim to graduate students who have:

  • Express themselves in English language clearly and comprehensively, orally and in writing.
  • Acquire an appropriate knowledge of relevant fields within literature, including, novel, poetry, drama, criticism, and within linguistics, namely, phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics and sociolinguistics.
  • Examine literature from multiple eras, cultures, and genres with critical understanding and linguistics from different theoretical frameworks.
  • Acquire research skills which enable them to expand, from a variety of perspectives, their own readings of literature and understanding of linguistics.

The specific strategies we use to achieve these goals include:
  • the close reading of texts in lectures, seminar presentations, and small-group discussions.
  • the writing of analytical and other kinds of essays.
  • research.
 

The Department Courses

 

The Departmnet Staff

Images Informations

Name: Ivan Hasan Murad Ashosta
Academic Rank: Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647508229442
E-Mail: ivan.murad@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Hozan Gorgeen Othman
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Head of the Department
Mobile: 9647504828796
E-Mail: Hozan.Othman@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Aveen Muhammed Hasan
Academic Rank: Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504031959
E-Mail: aveen.hasan@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Amel Abduljabbar Mahmoud
Academic Rank: Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647508107572
E-Mail: Amel.Mahmoud@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Kamiran Haji Suleiman
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile: 9647605001980
E-Mail: Kamiran.Sulaiman@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Sanan Shero Malo
Academic Rank: Lecturer
Position: PhD Student
Mobile: 9647504506115
E-Mail: sanan.malo@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Hishyar Mihssun Hassun
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: PhD Student
Mobile: 9647504227635
E-Mail: hishyar.hassun@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Fakher Omer Mohammed
Academic Rank: Assist. Professor
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504508868
E-Mail: fakhir.mohammed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Ahmad Shuker Ahmad
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504508082
E-Mail: ahmed.ahmed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Ghayda Ali Muhammed Al-faisal
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647713207057
E-Mail: ghayda.muhammed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Dilgash Mohammed Shareef AlSilevani
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504093123
E-Mail: dilgash.shareef@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Chiad Abdulsetar Abdulkarim
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: PhD Student
Mobile: 9647504779403
E-Mail: chiad.abdulkarim@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Baydaa Mohammed Saeed Mustafa
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: PhD Student
Mobile: 9647504987335
E-Mail: baydaa.saeed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Khorsheed Mohammed Rasheed Ahmed
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Department Coordinator
Mobile: 9647504842106
E-Mail: khorsheed.ahmed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Loozan Ahmed Rasool
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504013991
E-Mail: lozan.rasol@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Mahmood Haji Ahmed
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504396310
E-Mail: mahmood.ahmed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Sabah Suliman Haji
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff Member
Mobile: 9647504262623
E-Mail: sabah.haji@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Berivan Mohammed Ahmad Abdullah
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: berivan.abdullah@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Ashur Slewa Nico
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: ashur.nico@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Baroj Hashim Abdi
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: baroj.abdi@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Hasan Basil Abdulqader AlSaegh
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: Hasan.Saegh@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Herjin Fadil Abdullah
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: herjin.abdullah@uoz.edu.krg

Name: Ibrahim Ali Ali
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: ibrahim.ali@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Jihan Ibrahim Haji
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: Jihan.Haji@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Jiman Isa Megeed
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: jiman.mageed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Kamiran Haji Sulaiman
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: PhD Student
Mobile:
E-Mail: Kamiran.Sulaiman@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Lawend Ikram Mohammed
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: lawend.mohammed@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Maria Pollis Sesow
Academic Rank: No Title
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: maria.sesow@uoz.edu.krd

Name: Marwa Ihsan Abdulhgani
Academic Rank: Assist. Lecturer
Position: Academic Staff
Mobile:
E-Mail: marwah.abdulghani@uoz.edu.krd